Advisory Boards

The project is overseen and guided by several advisory mechanisms.

A Scientific Advisory Board composed of external senior researchers with internationally recognised expertise in reproductive health and/or female sex workers guided the research directions and co-monitored the progress of the project and the scientific output. The members were:

  • Prof. Dr. Elizabeth Ngugi, University of Nairobi, Centre for HIV Prevention and Research, Kenya
  • Dr. Bea Vuylsteke, Institute of Tropical Medicine, Antwerp, Belgium
  • Dr. Joanne Mantell, HIV Center for Clinical and Behavioral Studies at the New York State Psychiatric Institute, Columbia University, Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene, Inc., New York, United States of America
  • Dr. Sadia Afroze Chowdhury, Coordinator, Reproductive and Child Health at World Bank, Washington D.C., United States of America
  • Dr. Barbara McPake, Institute for International Health and Development, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

An Ethical Advisory Board ensured proper adherence to international standards and ethical guidelines for scientific research. The members were:

  • Mr. Andrew Gray, Dept of Therapeutics and Medicines Management, Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa
  • Mrs. Kay Thi, Chairperson of Asia Pacific Network of Sex Workers (APNSW)
  • Mrs. Kyomya Macklean, Director, WONETHA-Uganda
  • Dr. Vasantha Muthaswamy, Sr.DDG, Indian Council of Medical Research, Dept. of Reproductive Health and Nutrition, New Delhi, India

In each of the four countries where research was conducted a Policy Advisory Board and a Community Advisory Board provided oversight of project activities, ensured the adequacy of the research to the needs of the local context and increased ownership.